Books Fiction The Dirty Parts Of The Bible: Being The Adventures Of Tobias Henry, A Bad Baptist, In The Year 1936

The Dirty Parts Of The Bible: Being The Adventures Of Tobias Henry, A Bad Baptist, In The Year 1936.pdf

Rating: 5/5 1164 | Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations

Read online or download a free book: The Dirty Parts Of The Bible: Being The Adventures Of Tobias Henry, A Bad Baptist, In The Year 1936

Pages: 271

Language: English

Publisher: BookSurge Publishing (9 May 2007)

By: Sammy Conner (Author)

Book format: pdf doc docx mobi djvu epub ibooks (*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.)

A new novel for fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash. PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY says: 'While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle's farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails: scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters' distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle's, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his--and readers'--interests piqued.' Semifinalist for the 2010 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.
--This text refers to an alternate Pdf edition.


Read online or download a free book: The Dirty Parts Of The Bible: Being The Adventures Of Tobias Henry, A Bad Baptist, In The Year 1936.pdf

Download book - The Dirty Parts of the Bible: Being the Adventures of Tobias Henry, a Bad Baptist, in the Year 1936 by Sammy Conner : Language - English.pdf

*Report a Broken Link

Customer reviews:

Name:
The message text:

Related Files

  • The Beading Book (Hobby Craft)
  • Widdershins